Life of a Waterfall Conquerer

Well, as of today I may not be a conquerer, even though I was two days ago. Before you get any ideas, let me just set one thing straight. My mother has some serious, hands-down, INSANE persuasion skills. 


One minute we are standing there on the side of a trickling creek, the next we are crossing raging rapids on slippery stepping-stones. Well, almost.

 

We were at Zapata Falls, in the Easternmost part of Alamosa, Colorado. After getting out of the car, stretching the three-and-half-hour cramps out of our legs, and going to the bathroom, we began the half mile, uphill, hike to the before-mentioned trickling creek.

 

Well, that's what it had been twelve years ago when we came here for the first time. It was now a rabid waterfall, and my mother just had to get the brilliant idea to scale the side of the rock wall and go through the cave and see the beginning of the waterfall. It was a fantastic idea.....except for the fact that we were all wearing sandals and the waterfall fed off of a glacier in the Sangre De Christo mountains. Yeah. Cold. 

 

Well, she convinced us otherwise. Besides freezing our toes off, we got some amazing pictures, and it was worth the trek. The landscape is absolutely beautiful and the climb was worth the view. And yes, my feet eventually defrosted.

 

Sometimes life seems like Zapata falls, and we hate the coldness and the swiftness of the rushing water all around us. But we have to remind ourselves, that true beauty isn't the coldness of the water, or the swiftness of the current. True beauty is the love of God all around us, he created it all.  God made it, so it must be beautiful. And if you asked me I'd tell you that anything cold is beautiful, Whether it be raging rapids, a snowy morning, Queen Elsa's ice castle, or just someone with bad circulation. And if God made it, it must be True Beauty, because only he knows how to create true beauty. True story.

 

~ The Crazy Waterfall Conquerer living next door ~

 

Quick Links:

 

Need Inspiration?

Wondering about me?

Go to my homepage.

Wondering about something I said?

See pictures from my adventures!

Want to tell your story?

 

Leave your mark on my website:

Write a comment

Comments: 1
  • #1

    sex telefony (Tuesday, 17 January 2017 02:56)

    gondoliera